Healthy World 🌎 Jenny Hatch on Substack 🌏
Healthy Families Podcast 🌎 Jenny Hatch
#12 Sunday Night Religious Chat
0:00
-33:44

#12 Sunday Night Religious Chat

My favorite sources of spiritual renewal. Please share your favorite books!

I recently scrolled through my Kindle app to recall all of the e books I have read this past year.

One of my favorite things to do is to utilize the “download a free sample” feature of the app.

In this way I am able to quickly review the Table of Contents, Intro, Dedication, Reviews, and the first several chapters of any new book and then determine if I want to buy it or go look for it as a library loan. Most of the “samples” are never purchased because of a lack of cash, but I also have to pick and choose how much of my precious time is devoted to this type of work.

If you are an author, send me a copy of your book and I might just read and review it. I am always looking for guests to do long form interviews with. So contact me if you want to chat about your book.

Our local library is run by a bunch of progressives, so any book written by a leftist is easily found. But the Conservative books, if any are available at all, are usually old and I have already read them.

When Madonnas Sex book was published thirty years ago, the Denver Library announced multiple copies had been purchased with taxpayer money. The current culture wars around books, censorship, decency, and children need to be settled as we work together to create a healthy culture for our society.

Until the libraries are balanced out with equal measure right wing books to all the books and materials promoting left wing cultural marxism, readers will need to continue searching for the “best” books.

“7 And as all have not faith, seek ye diligently and teach one another words of wisdom; yea, seek ye out of the best books words of wisdom, seek learning even by study and also by faith;”

Doctrine and Covenants 109:7

So I love Kindle because it saves me money. Once my daughter asked how we spent all the money that her Dad earned. I pointed to the bookshelves and said, “Books and Music.”

(And… Food Storage and Prepper Supplies. 😘)

I still manage to spend quite a bit on books, I consider it an investment in my efforts as a content creator, and I try to always be on the lookout for new books to read.

I often will go looking for promotional interviews with the authors on You Tube and have found that this too gives me some depth when reading a new book.

Here are the titles as screen grabs of the books I have read this past year.

And here are a few of the book reviews I have done this past year.

While I do spend an inordinate amount of time on secular sources of information and probably WAAAYYYYY too much time reading the news and opinion commentary, my favorite reading material continues to be The Scriptures.

I love The Book of Mormon, The Bible, The Doctrine and Covenants, and The Pearl of Great Price and all are available to read for FREE on The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints app.

I also love to read and listen to General Conference Talks, one of which is embedded below, and I also enjoy listening to long form podcasts like Unshaken.

My FAVORITE Phone App is available for free from the app store.

Gospel Library

When I was a little girl my Mother observed that I did not “read” books. I “inhaled” them.

I still glut myself on the written word every day, but in all of this current swirl when “all things are in commotion” grounding myself with THE WORD helps to balance everything in my mind and keep me focused on all things ETERNAL!

“And all things shall be in commotion; and surely, men’s hearts shall fail them; for fear shall come upon all people”

Doctrine and Covenants 88: 88-91

Here is the link to read President Nelsons most recent General Conference talk. The video is embedded below!

Jenny Hatch

Think Celestial

https://m.youtube.com/live/Nph0TMHVBtg?si=4QyKMsMLW6jiGzQ3

First Presidency Christmas Devotional

0 Comments
Healthy World 🌎 Jenny Hatch on Substack 🌏
Healthy Families Podcast 🌎 Jenny Hatch
Jenny Hatch shares thoughts on current events, economics, music, religion, and politics.